Locations revealed for 4 more new subway stations in downtown Toronto


Metrolinx just keeps on coming with the detail drops as Ontario prepares to start building a new subway line through downtown Toronto.

The provincial transit agency, which just two weeks ago unveiled finalized locations for buildings that will anchor the new line's three westernmost stations (Exhibition, King and Bathurst, Queen and Spadina), has now confirmed four more station sites: Osgoode, Queen, Moss Park and Corktown.

The former two stations will serve as connection points between the $11 billion Ontario Line and the TTC's existing Line 1 subway, while the latter two will bring subway service to east downtown Toronto for the first time ever.

"We are making important progress on bringing more rapid transit to downtown Toronto with the Ontario Line," reads a newly-published update on the project's website.

"The stations at Osgoode, Queen, Moss Park and Corktown will give people fast and easy connections between the Ontario Line and other major transit routes," continues the update.

"The stations have been designed to put customers close to popular streetcar and subway routes and to develop a truly integrated transit network, making it as simple as possible to experience the city and the whole Greater Golden Horseshoe all with the simple tap of a PRESTO card."

From Osgoode to Don Yard, here's what we now know about four more of the 15 total stops on Toronto's forthcoming downtown subway line, which will eventually span roughly 16 kilometres, from Exhibition Place to the Ontario Science Centre.